Skip to content

Saturday’s are for Sport – them’s the roolz

October 2, 2010

Saturday’s are for sport.  When I’m in charge it will be law or something.

Today was a particularly hefty day in sporting terms:

AFL final, Test Match, Barnes HC v Kenley HC, Ryder Cup and the usual massive football league programme. (I believe there was a lot of rugby too but I don’t really notice rugby).

So I’ll take them in turn

AFL Final

I’ll be honest, I haven’t got the first scooby doo about AFL but the grand final was replayed this morning and one team heftily beat the other and there were some pies involved although nobody’s told me what flavour.  I just know that Cricket with Balls dude Jarrod is very happy with said Pies.

Mohali Day 2

One of the first rules of blogging is that if you make your posts too long people don’t read them so I’ll do a separate Mohali post.

Barnes HC v Kenley HC

1st league game of the season and a few new players in the squad.   The game was essentially a raging torrent of pressure attack from Barnes which saw us romp to a 6-0 victory but to be honest it could have been a cricket score we had that many shots on goal.   1st goal came from a short corner.  Drag out of from yours truly to Briony at the top of the D and a text book stop and strike from her saw the ball clatter to the back of goal.  Second goal was slipped to me from Becky and a slap hit into the bottom left corner and I was on the score sheet.   Then a succession of shots on target or just missing and short corners being awarded thanks to the Kenley defender’s size 9s.  Sadly none of these were capitalised on.  Something to work on.

The second half saw more continued attacking pressure from the Barnes XI with 4 more open play goals.  2 from Amy and 2 from Briony.   Kenley only broke into our D a few times but a solid Barnes defence blocked their brief periods of pressure on our net and we didn’t give away any short corners.   3 points in the bag and top of the league.

Ryder Cup

I think I’ve mentioned this already but dear Lord I love the Ryder Cup.  The 2nd session did not go Europe’s way thanks to some incredible stroke play and impressive putting from the Americans particularly Cink.  Europe 6-4 down going into the foursomes/fourballs.  Monty must have done a good job with the hairdryer though because we are up in all 6 matches at time of writing.  Westwood, Donald and Poulter my picks of the day.  Tiger once again showed that whilst he is probably the best golfer the world has seen, for some reason he just can’t cope with the RC.

It’s going to be one hell of a final day.  Europe need to secure these foursomes and fourballs and could potentially go into the singles 10-6 up.   I’ll be glued to the box.  Hopefully the weather won’t ruin the day, would be a shame for it to go to Monday session.

Football

I’m not expert on wendyball and there are 40 million football bloggers (some of the best are on my blog roll if you’re interested) but 3 things from today

1) Palace (my team) lost to a late injury time goal.  I could have coped with this if it wasn’t against Warnock’s QPR.  There’s history here and it ain’t pretty.  On the positive, this Cadogan lad is proving to be quite an emerging talent and I’ve heard talk about him on a couple of podcasts.  One thing Palace do very well is nuture young talent even if they then bugger off to a bigger club with more money.

2) Man U played Sunderland and looked nothing like a team worthy of a place in the big 4.  I’m loving both the Premier and the Championship so far this season, things seem to be much more open than previous years and that can only be good for both the sport and the supporters.

3) Doing my best Cherie Lunghi impression, I had a mass clear out of my fantasy team this week.  This appears to have paid off today as I picked up a good number of points and am inching my way up the league having spent the first few weeks firmly planted in the relegation zone.

No comments yet

Leave a comment